diy solar

diy solar

First Solar Design, Feedback Please?

sma92878

Hello all,

I've learned so much from this forum, and from Will's book. I'm honestly still very anxious about putting together a solar system, but this is my first attempt based on what I've learned so far. My goal is to put together a system so I can power critical devices in my home in case of a long term power outage. I've used these little things to collect power data on my critical loads:

They have worked really well and have given me my power draw of the loads I want to protect.

For the week, for my fridge, kettle to boil water, and a small counter top oven we use, we're just shy of 12kwh per week.

My design is as follows (also see attached image)

3000w 24v Growatt all in one inverter, solar charge controller
2 x 450w solar panels (which I will put in series, link here) - https://renogy.com/450-watt-monocrystalline-solar-panel/
6 x 12v 100ah battle born batteries, I selected these because my battery configuration was approved by the vendor, 2s3p for 24v / 300ah battery for a total of 7200ah

I'm still a little unsure of how to actually connect these parts together, but from talking to folks over at Battle born they recommended 2|0 cable sizes in between the batteries and to connect up to the inverter.

My max appliance load will be 1800w, though usually use from my counter top oven is about 600w

Several folks gave me input on the breaker size in between shore power and the batteries (thank you to this great community)
The only real thing I have to figure out is the fuses in between the solar panels and the Growatt.

I was wondering if my simple wiring diagram looks correct?

Kind regards, and thank you to everyone who's answered questions up to this point.

Kind regards and happy father's day!

Attachments

• Solar Design.PNG
    Solar Design.PNG
    27.9 KB · Views: 42
You should have a disconnect, but you really don't need fuses for a properly wired single string.