diy solar

diy solar

Fuse rate and cable sizing, could you recomend something ?

iquibalamenpau

Hi,

I have very little knowledge of electronics but these diagram has been very helpful to represent it in a simpler way.

I hope that somebody could give me a recommendation on my design, fuse rate and wire size. I’m open to any recommendations and adjustments.

Thanks to everyone

Wire LocationMax Length (meters)Wire, mm2Fuse/Breaker Rating (Amp)
Solar Panels to MPPT510 - 16 ???20
MPPT to (+) Bus Bar0.5640
(+) Bus Bar to Second Battery0.525100
(+) Bus Bar to DC Fuse Box0.525100
(+) Bus Bar to Alternator0.525100
(+) Bus Bar to Orion DC-DC0.510 ?45 ?
Orion to main car Battery6.535 ?60
(+) Bus Bar to Inverter0.535150
Inverter to loads 22052.5-

Components Used:

• 1 x 370 W, 24 v, Mono Solar Panels by Jinko ( Link )
  • Smart Solar 100|30 MPPT by Victron ( link )
  • Orion tr DC-DC 30A Isolated by Victron ( link )
  • 4 x REPT 3.2 280 AH Lifepo4 Battery cells ( link )
  • Smart BMS 4S cells 12V 120A (link)
  • 300 A Shunt by Mictuning ( link + link shunt )
  • 1000 W, 12V, Pure Sine Inverter ( link )
  • Main switch 300A ( link )
  • Auto midi Fuses (50A to 100A) (Link)
I am living in Europe and I am using this table to guide me in the current withstand in amperes of the cables

Doubts:

1- I am going to use the Inverter to power 2 laptops and a 50L fridge (which opens three times a day). Is it necessary to increase the 25mm2 cables and the 100A fuses?

2- In the MPPT Smart Solar manual, it indicates that it is optional to connect the ground (chassis), is it recommended?

3- Can I connect the negatives (-) of both batteries through the chassis ? Instead of two negative cables from the Orion DC-DC to each battery.

4- Do the negatives (-) have to be connected to the chassis in a lifepo4 system?

5- Should I fuse the positive (+) cable of the main battery to Orion tr?

Diagram in Imagur

Diagram attached in PDF