diy solar

diy solar

Hello everyone I am looking for advice!

miketig

Hi, my name is mike and I am looking into install my own solar system, the actual physical installation of the system is of no concern to me as that I am a builder who can build just about anything, I feel it would be wise to gather up as much advice about specifications of working solar systems from those who have already undergone installing a system. I will start off by saying that I am currently interested in a system that will be off grid style but with the option of still being able to use the grid if needed. I am thinking of a ground mounted with directional sun following capabilities, probably something that will be mounted a concrete Colum. Something to consider is the location for this mounting is about 200' away from my house. I also have a barn/workshop with a large south facing 10/12 pitch roof that I am considering adding solar too as second workshop solar system. but that's going to be latter. At the moment most of my electricity is consumed in my home and not the workshop, my highest consumption in the home usually happens in the summer months which so far at the highest is about 1200 KW per month. and at the lowest in winter at about 750kw which will probably change do to I am considering installing mini splits for heating. I would like to install something that is MORE than capable of handling all electrical consumption needs, One among many questions I have is does it make sense to have additional battery's added to a system and if so what is currently the better batteries out there? Another is what would be the benefits of installing a larger system as opposed to a smaller one? What are some of the different systems out there ? Being a retired builder I have a lot of time on my hands and I am the type of person to help out others so if there are any others out there in the south coast of Massachusetts and Rhode Island area who are considering a DIY solar system feel free to j