diy solar

diy solar

Hello from North of Europe

Joukahainen

Greetings from the wild north. Well, actually there is nothing wild here because I live in a suburb in the south of Finland. I have a small detached house and an 8 kW geothermal heating system (Nibe F1255). The geothermal well is 180 m deep. The geothermal well is also used to cool the house with a ducted radiator in the ventilation duct. The cooling is controlled by a Simene RLU200 series controller. The energy consumption for heating is 3000 kWh/year. The electricity consumption is about 7000 kWh/year. I am a plumber by profession but an engineer by education.

Since the price of electricity has risen dramatically I am thinking about installing solar panels. I am most interested in microinverters because they have Rapid Shut Down. Microinverters are not very popular in Europe, especially in Finland. So I thought I would ask here for a different opinion on solar power plants.

Microinverters European market share in 2028

Last edited:
Greetings from the wild north. Well, actually there is nothing wild here because I live in a suburb in the south of Finland. I have a small detached house and an 8 kW geothermal heating system (Nibe F1255). The geothermal well is 180 m deep. The geothermal well is also used to cool the house with a ducted radiator in the ventilation duct. The cooling is controlled by a Simene RLU200 series controller. The energy consumption for heating is 3000 kWh/year. The electricity consumption is about 7000 kWh/year. I am a plumber by profession but an engineer by education.

Since the price of electricity has risen dramatically I am thinking about installing solar panels. I am most interested in microinverters because they have Rapid Shut Down. Microinverters are not very popular in Europe, especially in Finland. So I thought I would ask here for a different opinion on solar power plants.