diy solar

diy solar

Hello from the Twin Cities Minnesota, Long time lurker with an addiction

JerryK

I have been a long time lurker here, got kind of tired of not being able to comment & look at pictures that people post therefore I finally registered. I have learned a lot here.
A little bit about myself, I am retired, I am a hobbyist fascinated with electronics going back over 50 years.
It all started when I was about 12 years old delivering local morning newspapers, where I would pick up the newspapers every morning prior to delivery was one of the neighborhood convenient stores and attached to that store was a barbershop as well as a TV repair shop. Behind that TV repair shop was always some broken TVs and other electronics. The owner of the shop said I could take what I wanted just don't shock yourself with those old CRT tubes.

Over the years it became computers and I actually started a small business locally building computers.
Over the past I'd say just under 10 years I started messing around with power inverters, I'd look for deals on the secondary market and purchase just to play around and look at the build quality and features. I lost count on how many inverters I have purchased over the years I would say it was probably be about 50 or more anywhere from commercial low frequency to some other cheaper knock off high frequency china brands.

I live in a suburban area that back in the late 70s when this neighborhood was built they left many of the mature trees which are large red oak, white oak and other hardwoods. Behind my house to the east is a wooded area and with all of the canopy we have I do not have an ideal area for solar, but my goal has never been to be off grid more-so just play around with solar and it's associated equipment again as a hobby.