diy solar

diy solar

how many BMS's

civilsub

think that i may be a little slow. I am building two 4 cell 12v 100aH batteries which i plan to then put in parallel for a total of 12v 200aH. do i need two BMS's (one for each battery) or can i use one BMS to monitor the entire battery bank?

@MisterSandals Thanks for the picture. I am NEW at this and trying to wrap my head around all I am learning. Yours is making 8 cells into 1 12V 200AH battery, correct? It looks like you put them in 4 parallel pairs first, then put the four parallel pairs in 4 Series. How is that different than this diagram from Will that is a 24V system?
24V Battery system.PNG
From your picture it looks similar, but Will's has two bus bars on each series. Am I seeing the right? Your label on the image is 4S2P, but you still put them in Parallel pairs first then in series, correct?

I am trying to learn enough to buy two of these:
LiFePO4 12 200Ah Batteries
and make a 24v 200AH battery. How would I do that with a minimal number of BMSs?

Also on that page, with images and descriptions entangled, are mentions of 24v and 48v BMS systems... (attached is what the OP should use from that page)

View attachment 6877
I thought the OP was building for 12V...??? In the first post he said: "I am building two 4 cell 12v 100aH batteries which i plan to then put in parallel for a total of 12v 200aH"

think that i may be a little slow. I am building two 4 cell 12v 100aH batteries which i plan to then put in parallel for a total of 12v 200aH. do i need two BMS's (one for each battery) or can i use one BMS to monitor the entire battery bank?

Do you have a particular BMS in mind? I have a hard time finding a 200A 12V BMS that I like and is affordable.

I am trying to learn enough to buy two of these:
LiFePO4 12 200Ah Batteries
and make a 24v 200AH battery. How would I do that with a minimal number of BMSs?