diy solar

diy solar

How to Wire Breaker/Panel

lboucher26

Hi All

Done DIY home electrical for many years, but this is my first time doing solar.
I'm putting in a Eg4 6k.

I have a Transfer Switch i intend to use to for some loads.

In between the Eg4 output and the Transfer Switch input, i plan to have QOC16UF load center.
My question is, it it Kosher to wire from the EG4, into 1 of the breakers (30 amp). Then go from the main lug terminals down to the input of the transfer switch?

I'm just not used to wiring incoming power direct to a breaker... And i am not used to wiring an output from the main terminals...
But technically, all the wiring would be protected by the 1 breaker... Other breakers/wires past those breakers would be sized appropriately.

See attached image.

Side question
If i use 30 amp breaker. Will the breaker ever actually trip or would the Inverter shut down prior? Yes i will be putting in a breaker regardless. Just asking.

Thank youLoad Center wiring question.png

I am not following the system description. Could you do a diagram showing all the major components. (Inverter, xfer switch, load boxes, etc)

I assume this is off grid so please clarify what the transfer switch is doing?

I assume the panel in the drawing is your main loads panel and the wires to the EG4 are the source of power to that panel?

Does the EG4 have a breaker on its output and will it be located close to this panel?
A diagram like @FilterGuy asked for could answer most of the above.

Sorry, here is full story. Yes its an off grid setup.

Thanks for such quick responses.

Note: Actually mean Reliant 30 amp transfer switch. The type that only switches the hot.

Overall diagram.png

Last edited:
I am not acquainted enough with the EG4 in a grid set up like that. I thought the EG4 was an off grid inverter, If so, does it have a Grid input? Someone with more knowledge of the EG4 can probably give you better advice.