diy solar

diy solar

I need Help

Danyenah10

HI everybody , I am very new to this , I was planning on installing a solar system on the roof of a Mercedes Sprinter that would be capable of running a roof top air conditioner , I am toying with the idea of the following 3x350 watt 12 volt solar panels with 30amp fuses and blocking diodes then into 3 to 1 branch connectors then into a 60 amp mppt solar controller then into 2x 300 amp lithium batteries , I know it sound heavy but roof top air cons use a lot of amps …any suggestions on size of cable from the 3 in 1 connectors to solar controller .
any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
many thanks Mike

Start with a load calculations and a power audit... V x A = W
You'll quickly realize you're going to want a lot more panel and battery.

Oh and welcome to the forum Mike.

For comparison, we have a pop-up camper with a rooftop AC unit that pulls about 1200 watts.

AC on rooftop solar is a tall order.

My rooftop has 1650 watts of panels and my panels have topped out at 1100 watts production in April with the sun high in the sky, and I only get close to that for a couple hours before and a couple hours after 12 pm.

My AC draws 1470 watts from the inverter, but I need 1650 watts from the battery to run it to cover both the inverter and conversion losses.

To cover the excess needed to run the AC, I put out 900 watts of panels on the ground. That actulally puts out 900 watts. With that, I can comfortably run the AC off solar and watch TV with lights on, but very little extra for battery charging.

This weekend, I‘m actually side mounting 300 watts of panels give A couple hundred watts of charging power.