diy solar

diy solar

I think I want to do something which is probably foolish ;-)

mikecogs

I am getting solar panels installed and I want to add battery by myself. It would be pretty straightforward if I were to buy a setup from signaturesolar or bigbattery or some other place like that (if they ever get more stock). However I am considering maybe building a system myself using the EVE cells from AliExpress which Will has on his site with the 48V Overkill BMS. I would build two 48V banks of about 14.3 kWh each (3.2*16*280=14,336) , and connect them in parallel to my Sol-Ark inverter. I estimate about $6000 for the 32 cells and the two Overkill BMS units plus a bit for other wires, bolts, etc. I would also need a housing which I have not figured out yet. I am new to all this though I have a 20+ year background in IT and am generally knowledgeable in this stuff. I have never done anything like this before. How bad of an idea is it for me to attempt this? What am I missing?

I am getting solar panels installed and I want to add battery by myself. It would be pretty straightforward if I were to buy a setup from signaturesolar or bigbattery or some other place like that (if they ever get more stock). However I am considering maybe building a system myself using the EVE cells from AliExpress which Will has on his site with the 48V Overkill BMS. I would build two 48V banks of about 14.3 kWh each (3.2*16*280=14,336) , and connect them in parallel to my Sol-Ark inverter. I estimate about $6000 for the 32 cells and the two Overkill BMS units plus a bit for other wires, bolts, etc. I would also need a housing which I have not figured out yet. I am new to all this though I have a 20+ year background in IT and am generally knowledgeable in this stuff. I have never done anything like this before. How bad of an idea is it for me to attempt this? What am I missing?

The number one question, what will you do with the batteries once you build them?