diy solar

diy solar

New and looking to do my first solar project.

Fallbackpuppet

I am completely new to this forum and solar, but I do have a technical background (computer science) and have been a home owner for a long time. So I have done many home electrical repairs and projects. While I am not an expert I do have some experience with home wiring.

I am working on learning so I can put together my first solar project. I want a solar backup primarily for our well pump, but if possible also our freezers when the power goes out. It would also be awesome to have a system I can expand as time goes on to perhaps cover more if not all of the home electric when the power goes out.

I know I will need mounts, cabling, and other various bits and piece right now I am trying to figure out major components.

My first is question am I missing any major components to a home system?

The second question is planning on 48v so if I wire the panels and batteries in series as groups of 4 and then those groups in parallel will that work with this equipment?

Basically 3 groups of 4 batteries 48v 100AH each and then on parallel battery unit at 48v 300AH then 2 groups of 4 solar panels making 48v at 9.8 Amps 780 watts each in serial making 48v with 19.6 amps and 1560 watts.

The parts I am looking at:
12V 100Ah LiFePO4 Battery x12

UL1741 10KW Solar Off Grid Inverter 110/220Vac Low Frequency DC 48V AC Input 240V AC Output 120V/240V Split Phase x1

ECO-WORTHY 6 String PV Combiner Box(Metal Case) & 63A Circuit Breakers for Solar Panels x 1

Echo worthy Dual Axis Solar Tracker System x1

Echo worthy 195W 12V Monocrystalline Solar Panel x8

Am I missing any primary components? Will these work wired as described above? Thank you in advance.

Last edited:
I'd suggest slowing down first and doing a bit more homework before you start spending money ordering stuff. You can't start deciding how to wire stuff together until you know the specifications of the equipment you are working with.