diy solar

diy solar

Is a transfer switch needed to use shore power to charge a battery bank when you remove an inverter/charger and replace it with only an inverter?

Greenshereen

I was told that if I replace my existing inverter/charger with just an inverter that I will lose the ability to charge my battery bank with shore power, my diesel generator, and my alternator. Also, that if I wanted these options to charge my battery bank I would have to install new wires and use a transfer switch since the one built into my existing inverter/charger would be eliminated. That my solar power system would take between 16-24 hours of labor with two people and several days to two weeks for an RV repair shop to schedule in. I’m a complete novice when it comes to RV electrical systems and installation. But, it doesn’t make sense to me that I would have to install brand new wires unless you factor in the upgrade from lead acid to lithium iron phosphate…? Do they require thicker wires?

It's hard to tell you anything when you don't specify what exactly you have, and what it would be replaced with? I'm assuming your original inverter/charger has died and you need to replace it? What's the brand? Why can't you just replace it with another inverter/charger? I know that both my inverters have a built-in charger, and both have grid transfer switches, but they are 24V and 48V respectively. I'm assuming you want this to be 12V?

What exactly is the bottleneck? Are they no longer making an inverter that comes with a charger and a grid connection? Sounds to me like what the dealer wants to do is install what he has instead of what you need?

With a similar charging profile, and similar AC loads, the wire gauge should stay the same. Does the wire appear to be suffering from any corrosion, like road salt damage? If the wiring is old they may want to replace it just to be safe, but this sounds to me like trying to rack up charges.