diy solar

diy solar

Issue with 330 watt panels and PowMR BSC6048 60a charge controller

romanvm

Hey all,

New to Solar, trying to get my setup going. I have a mppt PowMR BSC6048 60a charge controller with 2 330 watt 36v panels (voc 41.31) and Timeusb LiFePO4 12V100Ah Battery.

PowMR Solar current is showing 13v and is blinking, (according to the manual, it indicates “overcurrent”). I don’t see anywhere in the instruction where I can adjust voltage for solar PV input.

Does this mean PowMr is not capable of handling voltage over 12v for PV?

See attached for specs on above equipment.

Thanks for your help! ??

Attachments

• IMG_7082.jpeg
    IMG_7082.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 4
  • IMG_7084.jpeg
    IMG_7084.jpeg
    759 KB · Views: 5
  • IMG_7074.jpeg
    IMG_7074.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 5
  • IMG_6990.jpeg
    IMG_6990.jpeg
    665.5 KB · Views: 5
  • IMG_7083.jpeg
    IMG_7083.jpeg
    514.1 KB · Views: 4
That's a PWM controller. You're trying to us a 60 cell panel with it.

The controller works by shorting the panel voltage to battery forcing the panel to operate at battery voltage, thus your performance of that panel will never exceed:

14.6V / 33.81V * 330W = 142W

The manual foolishly indicates 100V max PV, but that's only meaningful with a 48V system, which it can handle.

You should be using a 36 cell "12V" panel with a Voc around 20-24V.

In order to charge a 12V battery with that panel, you need a MPPT controller.

That's a PWM controller. You're trying to us a 60 cell panel with it.

The controller works by shorting the panel voltage to battery forcing the panel to operate at battery voltage, thus your performance of that panel will never exceed:

14.6V / 33.81V * 330W = 142W

The manual foolishly indicates 100V max PV, but that's only meaningful with a 48V system, which it can handle.

You should be using a 36 cell "12V" panel with a Voc around 20-24V.

In order to charge a 12V battery with that panel, you need a MPPT controller.