diy solar

diy solar

Just added 2nd Growatt in parallel single phase...

DesertDude

The Arizona desert, at the base of Chiricahua Mtn.
Greetings everyone...
Yeah, I'm a newbie... well, sort of...
I've been running solar for about 9 years now, the first 8 years or so on AGM until recently when I built an entirely new system with LiFePo4 batteries on a 24 volt system.
Things were working wonderfully with 2 LifePower4 SigSolar 24V batteries and a single Growatt 24V 3000W inverter. It was a rough beginning until I finally figured out how to set the Growatt to Lithium and have it work correctly. It's run all summer without a care in the world and I couldn't have been happier.
Then, a couple of days ago I tried adding a 2nd Growatt in parallel single phase and it all kinda went south on me. Everything actually worked fine in parallel mode except it no longer would run in Growatt menu #5 lithium setting... I had to go back to AGM or USE settings. It started with the ominous 4 & 20 error codes again as it did in the beginning before I figured it out.

So I guess my question is... Is there a way to set this up so that 2 Growatts in parallel will run in "lithium" mode???

I'm thinking the 2nd Growatt needs a cable from the BMS output to connect somewhere, but where? I'm guessing the 2nd unit needs a BMS input, henceforth the error codes. I tried every combination I could think of connecting to the batteries but no luck. I've yet to try this (since I've now disconnected the 2nd Growatt), but can I run that BMS cable to the 1st Growatt RS485 port that's still vacant?

I'm at a loss here, and things are getting desperate cuz everything is now going haywire and the batteries are acting really strange with faults, etc.
And just FYI, I'm a retired senior living completely off-grid and I so much need my electricity to survive out here.

Thanks so much for anyone who has read this far and might be able to help.