diy solar

diy solar

Mc4 connections to combiner box questions

Wv lew

Newbie here. Probably a dumb question, but here goes……Wanting to know how to connect mc4 to a combiner box terminal. Is there a coupling to do this or do you just cut the mc4 and splice? I’m wanting to Use 10awg wire to go from the combiner box to the all In one connections, so how do I connect the mc4 to the terminations inside thst box??

Wanting to know how to connect mc4 to a combiner box terminal. Is there a coupling to do this or do you just cut the mc4 and splice?
Your panel likely has a MC4 connectors. Does your combiner box have MC4 input? It sounds like it accepts a bare wire. So somewhere between solar panel and combiner box, you need wires with MC4 on one end and a stripped wire on the other end.

Your panel likely has a MC4 connectors. Does your combiner box have MC4 input? It sounds like it accepts a bare wire. So somewhere between solar panel and combiner box, you need wires with MC4 on one end and a stripped wire on the other end.
My all
In one is an eg4 6000ex. I pick it Up
Tomorrow it’s at a shipping place waiting on me, so I Am Not Sure what it has. I haven’t bought a combiner box yet. Looking at the one will prowse likes, it has fuses breaker and surge protection. Expensive though., but I’d like to run just some then 10 awg wire to the combiner box and the inverter. I just need to know how to get the mc4 from the panels into the combiner box, without cuttting wires.

Expensive though., but I’d like to run just some then 10 awg wire to the combiner box and the inverter. I just need to know how to get the mc4 from the panels into the combiner box, without cuttting wires.
You really only need a combiner box when connecting a 3 or more strings in parallel and the combined amperage exceeds 30A (what most connectors are rated at).