diy solar

diy solar

Open Ground Fault on EG4 3K EHV-48

Beeralph

Hi, I am new to solar system DIY and am trying to install an EG4 3000 EHV-48 inverter to 2 EG4 Lifepower4 Rack mounted 48V 100 Ah batteries. I have them connected to 4 solar panels in series producing 120-160vdc. The system works to power a heat gun with the AC 120v power, but when I check the outlet with a plug in fault detector it gives an open ground fault. The fault goes away if I plug 120vAC from the house to the inverter. I intend to use this to recharge my 2020 Ford Fusion plug in Hybrid. It takes 9kw to get to work and back and I have 10kw of batteries. When I plug the charger cord in I get a fault light. I have contacted signature solar and they are supposed to be having a level 2 tech contact me, but it has been over a week and no joy. I have attached a hand drawn wiring diagram. There will be more circuits eventually, but I want to get the desired result before I expand the system. Any help will be appreciated.

Attachments

• PXL_20240308_154039047.jpg
    PXL_20240308_154039047.jpg
    385.9 KB · Views: 3
Sounds correct to me... without being plugged into 120 wall power, your ground is not bonded probably. There should just be 1 ground neutral bond in a total system, so there isn't one set in your eg4 as it assumes wall power provides that probably.

In mobile systems, you actually need to switch the ground neutral bond on and off when you upplug shore power or plug it in.

Go look at Wills recent video of the eg4 3000, he actually did an update because of this bonding issue and peole found errors with his setup due to the way he had it bonded, since the device doesnt automatically switch this.