diy solar

diy solar

Over-charge?

MasseyRed

Very novice here, so please bear with me...

New solar array - 350 watts of panels at 12 volts connected to a hub > renogy wanderer charge controller > 100ah lifepo4 battery > 4000 watter pure sine inverter.

My issue is when the panels and controller are connected to the battery and the inverter is on, things will run for a few minutes and the inverter reads 13.9 dcv (give or take .1) but the creeps up to 40...40.1 - then charge controller beeps, pv light goes solid, battery light flashes quickly, power cuts out, then seconds later it resumes.

The controller will go from solid pv light and solid battery light to slow flashing pv and solid batt, then the beep, quick flash batt light, cut out, resume with solid pv and solid batt (always green). Any idea what is going on? Is the charge controller not actually controlling the charge? I'm trying to learn and not instinctually good with this stuff so any assistance would be great.

Got any pictures of the set up?
Is the charge controller getting to 40 volts?! On your 12v battery? That's not good!

There are 2x 100 watt and 2x 75 watt at 12 v each connected to a hub in par for 350 watts at 12v. The hub connects to the charge ctrl, and charge ctrl to the battery posts with a 30 amp fuse between the ctrl and the battery. The inverter is connected the the battery posts as well and a separate ground wire from the inverter to a steel rod in the ground. When the pannels/charge controller are connected to the battery and the inverter is on with a load (30 watt fan for example), the dc voltage in reads ± 14v, ac voltage out is 120v, and draw reads 30 watts. The dc volts in creeps up to 14.1, system shuts off for a second, drops to about 13.8v, comes back on, creeps up to 14.1 and repeats. Is it that there is something wrong with the charge controller? Things work fine when the solar/charge ctrl are disconnected.