diy solar

diy solar

Over panel question

Clowy699

I recently ordered a Pecron e1500LFP. I would like to maximize the solar input as close as possible, but not be dangerous.

Solar CC is rated at 32-95v 700w 15a

I found some REALLY cheap 250w panels on marketplace. They are 10yrs old but still working. 37.6VOC 30.3v@pmax 8.85a short circuit current. 8.27a at pmax.

I have to run 2 in series to meet the minimum volts. But I recently learned about over paneling, and believe I could run 2s 2p. This would give just under 80v (well within the specs) just over on amps at 16-17 but what seems like a lot over on watts. I expect shading so the parallel would help. I’ve done a lot of research on this forum and other places lately, and my understanding is this should be fine. But I am a beginner at solar and would appreciate any input from more experienced members before I try this. It just feels weird putting 1000w on 700w cc.

It should only ever take in what it calls for, a max of the 15A.

So you should be fine to pile in as much amperage as you want, that way you're guaranteed that you should always be getting your full 700W input.

But you still may want to directly ask the folks at Pecron to see what their thoughts are.

Some people have pointed out that certain companies specify that their amperage limit is not to be exceeded, but most only state warning about exceeding voltage.

Should be fine I think, but different judgement should be used based on how bad it would be to have a fire where it is when it's charging.

I.e. If it's in the house, be more cautious.

Although it’d probably be OK, I recommend looking at the specs in the manual for overpaneling.

My Victron SCC is very clear that what you’re suggesting would work.

My much cheaper generic SCC is not very clear and makes no mention of overpaneling.