diy solar

diy solar

Power Bank

offgriddle

"FOREVER BEGINNING"
A friend loaned me this power bank and it's been really helpful in taking the strain off of a small solar system when I want too run a lap top, USB fan, radio and charge a few small things.

As a beginner I am confused, this Polymer Lithim Ion battery bank is rated at 50,000 milliamps. If one thousand milliamps = 1 amp, that means that this power bank is packing FIFTY AMPS! That's a lot of amperage for a small package, how could that be when a normal fifty amp 12 volt lithium battery is five or ten or more times larger?

IMG_20200314_162128.jpg

As a side note, I was floored when I saw the "made in China" label. With so few products manufactured in China, (especially electronics & especially in recent decades), it's rare to find the occasional product that is manufactured in China. You go China!

:)
it's probably a USB powerbank, that makes it 5v.
Or actually 3.7 with small booster.
50Ah is a lot, but not unknown to exaggerate.
my powerbank is 10.000mah / 37Wh
yours is bigger, more thick and larger, so, can be.
probably 185Wh.
(not 12 v x 50Ah = 600Wh, but still amazing high watts)

Voltage.
Amp hours are meaningless as a comparison of capacity without knowing the voltage, and power banks are low voltage. The 20Ah powerbank I bought is 3.7v IIRC. So about 75 watt hours. Compare this to a 20, 12v battery which is 256 watt hours.

A friend loaned me this power bank and it's been really helpful in taking the strain off of a small solar system when I want too run a lap top, USB fan, radio and charge a few small things.

As a beginner I am confused, this Polymer Lithim Ion battery bank is rated at 50,000 milliamps. If one thousand milliamps = 1 amp, that means that this power bank is packing FIFTY AMPS! That's a lot of amperage for a small package, how could that be when a normal fifty amp 12 volt lithium battery is five or ten or more times larger?

View attachment 9072