diy solar

diy solar

Questions on inverter.

OtokoShiro

Im looking at Giandel 4000W 12v inverter And have some questions.

1. Can I rune a 600w window AC unit on this?
2. How meny batterys do I need?

any other advice is really helpful. This is not a project that will be done in the near future as I am still learning and researching to have a off-grid solar shed.

any other advice is really helpful. This is not a project that will be done in the near future as I am still learning and researching to have a off-grid solar shed.
I am currently running a 4000/8000 watt Giandel inverter but in 24 volts. What is the actual amp draw on that window unit? 5 amps +? What is the start up amps? How long do you want to run your AC? Hours in a day? That 12 volt inverter is going to be your limiting factor. If that unit, after start up, ran 24/7 , you would need 14,400 watts of battery storage in LP04. You would have to have 100 percent charge and then be able to drain them to zero daily to power 24/7. Then you would need enough solar panel charging to recharge that battery bank back to 100 percent to accomplish this every day. And by the way, 14,400 watts is 12 / 100AH batteries.

Sorry the AC I was looking at was discontinued. Here is an A/C unit PDF on a similar unit which I added to my amazon wish list.

Thank you for the information. My overall plan at this point in time is to run appliances that won't be a high demand on the system.

Like appliances under 120v. I am not sure about the water heater. I am researching smaller units without the tank.

Last edited:
Yes that unit is about 564 watts without the inrush of startup.
When you are thinking higher wattage users like AC's, start thinking about a 24 or 48 volt system. Scratch the thought of a regular electric water heater unless you are building a massive system.

I very much agree with the 24/48V recommendation. Everything works better at the higher voltages.