diy solar

diy solar

questions on QO load center wiring

Texican

Solar Enthusiast
I am replacing an old GE 125 amp load center with a new QO square D main breaker 200 amp panel
I have a fused disconnect between the meter and this new panel, so that makes the new panel a sub panel with a 4 wire feed and no bonding at this panel. neutral and grounds will be separate in this panel

I have never used a QO panel before and want to be sure the 4 feed in wires are correctly mounted its 4/0,4/0,4/0.2/0 AL

in the picture it looks like the 2/0 ground goes right next to the neutral wire. Is that correct ? looks like the neutral and ground lug are the same piece of metal, isnt that a bond that I do not want ?

my old GE panel needs a separate ground lug for 2/0 wire added to the ground terminals
like this one from QO, do I need this lug ? QO says its for neutral doesnt say ground ?

bottom line how to do a 4 wire into a qo panel ?

qopane;3.jpg

Isn’t there a ground bar in bottom left?

2/0 ground is oversized, you only have that size because SER can be used for both wye service conductors and 120/240 feeders, and the sizing of neutral for wye is much bigger than what is needed for ground

My guess is use a split bolt to reduce down to appropriate size and go into the ground bar in the bottom left background. That is assuming there is no 2/0 lug accessory you can install on the ground.

Isn’t there a ground bar in bottom left?

2/0 ground is oversized, you only have that size because SER can be used for both wye service conductors and 120/240 feeders, and the sizing of neutral for wye is much bigger than what is needed for ground

My guess is use a split bolt to reduce down to appropriate size and go into the ground bar in the bottom left background. That is assuming there is no 2/0 lug accessory you can install on the ground.
Yup.
Screenshot_20231105-153041.jpg