diy solar

diy solar

Reminder: You have to consider BOTH voltage drop and ampacity when sizing wire.

Dzl

Unofficial Forum Librarian & Perpetual Newbie
Staff member
A misunderstanding I see waaaay too often, by newbies and non-newbies alike (even some very seasoned/experienced folks) is not understanding that they must take into consideration both Ampacity (current carrying capacity of the wire) AND Voltage drop when sizing wire. Too often I see people giving advice where they only mention, voltage drop, or refer people to voltage drop calculators without warning/acknowledging that Ampacity is equally if not more important (a safety concern). And that voltage drop will depend on length of the wire among other things, while ampacity does not depend on distance, and is affected by variables like insulation temperature rating and ambient temperature.

I'm not an expert on either voltage drop or wire ampacity (or anything else for that matter ?), so I hope i'm not misrepresenting anything, but the oversimplified explanation:

Voltage Drop = the drop in voltage across a conductor resulting from the resistance in the circuit. It can be expressed as an absolute value xx volts or a %. The formula = Vdrop = Current * Resistance. We care about it because it (1) is an inefficiency (2) can lead to mismeasurement or in some cases problems if its too high.

Amapacity = the safe current carrying capacity of a conductor. Different variables affect this, including current, wire insulation temperature rating, ambient temperature, and so on.

voltage drop represents the lost power on the wire, or wasted energy...for solar given how inefficient things are already, this matters a lot as its a direct driver on your long term ROI or system sizing.

I "think" what you are trying to bring up is that wires have current limits that must always be respected.