diy solar

diy solar

Sol-Ark 15's, low PV output - what to investigate?

Wzrdmatt

Hi Everyone,

Long time lurker, and first time poster. I had a solar setup professionally installed and I fear there are some problems. Not getting the best support from the company, so I'm looking for some help here to see if I can identify what's wrong.

We're located in Northern California, with 28KW of solar facing south. No trees, nothing blocking the arrays... The setup is connected to two sol-ark 15k inverters. Each inverter has half the panels attached to it.

It's been cloudy today in California, but had some great periods of strong sunshine for the first part of the day. The generation of these units is all over the map, mostly bouncing around <500watts generated, and sometimes hitting as low as 9w in a given period (no rain, just some clouds). I'm no expert, but I'd think a 28kw setup this should be producing much more. At one point today something happened (no change in sun) and one of the units went crazy generating significant PV power (10kw)...and then they went back to <500watts, at times hitting as low as 20 watts. It was very weird, but shows there is potential for generation here...

Inverter 2.png
Inverter 1.png

I'm pretty handy with electrical, but I have no clue where to start with these Sol-Arks. Any advice on where to start looking for problems to fix?

PS. I did notice one of the inverters / strings is potentially wired incorrectly (see photo). Inverter 2, String 1 seems to have one positive leg on the wrong terminal PV3+ (see photo); or maybe all strings are wired wrong here.... Inverter 2 seems to have the most volatility, going from 2kw to 0 throughout the day.
inverter 2 wiring.png

PSS. I have Homegrid batteries installed. The Homegrid are installed 1 stack (19.2 per Sol-Ark) to each inverter; the inverters are setup as independent (not parallel). Not sure why they did this, but will likely need to change this to a parallel setup in the future.