diy solar

diy solar

Solar consulting & equipment ordering for DIYers

CharlesM99

Hi all,
Please remove this if its not allowed.

I've been designing solar systems and making plan sets for 10+ years now, and I am looking to branch out a bit. So I was considering a consultation service for DIYers that want to install their own system, but could use some experienced input with equipment selection, design, production estimates & ordering equipment.

Basically, I'd like to offer people some or all of these services:
- Help selecting the equipment that is going to work best for their use case, and any other relevant design advice
- Production estimation for their system design
- Help with filling out permit & utility applications as needed
- Help with ordering equipment.
- Remote consultation time with experienced electricians to look through the project and provide input on the simplest, code compliant way to install
- Remote consultation time with experienced roof PV installers to provide input on how best to install the roof side of the project

I could set up accounts with the major PV equipment distributors (CED greentech, Bay Wa.re, Soligent, anyone else?), and with enough volume those suppliers give discounts, so I'd be able to pass on the discounted equipment pricing.

I know project solar and unbound solar do something similar, but it seems like they really mark up the equipment costs to make their profits.

What do you all think? Anything you'd want or expect from a service like this?

How would you keep your customers from finding out about this free forum?
I wouldn't want to! I'd probably even provide a link to this site as a great resource to learn, the more people know about solar energy the better.
But if someone wants to pay me to make plans for them, or design their project in Aurora to get a production estimate then I'm happy to help.