diy solar

diy solar

System “crashes” when the sun comes out.

Ste66

Hi, I’m new to solar.
I’m converting a boxer and have put x2 100w panels on the roof. I have a fuse board with just lighting and water pump connected. All going through an mppt charge controller.
My issue is that the system seems to be working ok but as soon as the sun comes out the load fails (lights off etc).
I originally thought it was the charge controller so I upgraded…
Please help.. thank you.. Ste.

but as soon as the sun comes out the load fails (lights off etc).

Where are they connected? If connected to the "load" port of your CC, it may be set to turn off as soon as solar is available.
As others said, we need more info on all of the components and how you have it wired.

Peugeot boxer van.
Promaster in US.
as soon as the sun comes out the load fails (lights off etc).
This implies there is a battery in the system. My guess is that you have loads connected to the load output of the solar controler. This load output may be programmed 'dusk till dawn'. Either connect loads direct to battery via a fuse or reprogram load output.

Typical small system. Battery monitor shunt optional.
Screenshot_20230905-200359_Chrome~2.jpg

I think we're gonna need (a lot) more detail on your system, wiring, setup, components, etc....
Hi, thanks for reply.
Sorry I was vague… as I said, I’m new to this.
The 2 x 100 panels are connected to a 120ah , 12v battery. Fuse board with led lights, water pump.
All through a 60amp mppt CC..
When I press “load on” button on CC the light flash on and off or don’t come on at all.. the voltage indicator on my usb cluster flashes 888. 6EF864B8-5304-4268-901D-91CABC5B32A3.jpeg
Hope this helps folks..
Thank you all for replies…Ste.
See pics..

Attachments

• 65D43577-4EFA-45C2-B348-AE85FB615E6C.jpeg
    65D43577-4EFA-45C2-B348-AE85FB615E6C.jpeg
    952.8 KB · Views: 13
  • 45630B7A-159F-4D92-B35D-9AC2107D99F1.jpeg
    45630B7A-159F-4D92-B35D-9AC2107D99F1.jpeg