diy solar

diy solar

Titan Solar Generator

ebertoli

Hogging the sun!
I'd like to see what other people think about this generator. I like that you can charge and use it at the same time, that they have extra batteries that are stackable and that you can add your own battery setup as well. I'm a total noob, but it looks like a good start to an off grid system for a friend in rural Guatemala that I could actually carry by splitting it apart and sticking it into a couple of giant suitcases. It seems a bit expensive, but it seems pretty capable.

I'd like to get the opinions of other folks here about this generator. I'm not sure about the batteries or the cycles and that's a concern because I'd hate to hand a solution to free someone from the power grid just to have them get the benefit of it for a couple of years and then lose the ability to use it. I was thinking of the Delta 1300 (they will ship it to Guatemala) and then I ran across this one. Buying hundreds of dollars of replacement batteries is not an option for these folks. The solar panels are probably going to be a similar problem because carrying them in a suitcase down there is my best option due to shipping being off the charts and not necessarily reliable. I don't know enough to build a system for them from scratch, but I'd like to give them a powerful solution that they can use where they are and at a new place they are planning to move to.

There is a guy (Minute Man Prep) that has done some videos... I'm not sure about his relationship with the product though - he has 'managed to get special pricing from the manufacturer' which seems to be the same price that anyone can get through the manufacturer if they go directly there).

Please tell me what you think.

Edit to add other thoughts: I am not super excited about the AC plug for this system. I like that the Delta uses a regular wall plug

Last edited:
Interesting unit. And Expensive.