diy solar

diy solar

Total Newbie Starting from Scratch

The_Kobayashi_Vroom

Hi all. My name is Amanda - and this board is super overwhelming to me - BUT - I am eager to learn all I can. We are in the process of building a skoolie out of a 2011 Bluebird that we will be powering on solar and at least 1 propane appliance. Our heat at this time we plan on using a cubic mini stove. We have plenty of time in our planning - so I have no need to rush or cut corners. Our long-term plan will be to have our skoolie sitting on land off-the-grid, but not before doing a bit of traveling first. Things that I am working on figuring out are powering:
  • Maxxair Fan
  • Fridge
  • LED Lights
  • Tankless Water heater (could end up doing this propane - we have not bought it yet)
  • Washing Machine
  • Small Dryer
  • Various Kitchen Appliances
  • iPhone/iPad chargers
  • Laptop and WiFi for an audiobooth
  • Hairdryer
  • Composting Toilet Vent Fan
  • Water Pump (for fresh water tank)
  • Window AC (when the fan will not cut it)
  • Small water pump for a hydroponic garden

I have the book already - a recommendation from Reddit. I am thinking about just going with doing the Off-grid King recommendation setup and following that plan: https://www.mobile-solarpower.com/the-off-grid-king-power-anything.html

I'd love to hear if that is a terrible idea or if it might be best to do with my very very limited experience. I'm still learning all of the terminology and so honestly a lot of the jargon at the moment is like looking at a foreign language.

Thanks!

Amanda

The solar king is a nice set-up. (See my diagram for it below)

In order to know if the Solar King meets your needs, you will need to do a little work to further flesh out your energy needs. To do that you will need to do an energy assessment/audit. Your list of devices is a great start, but now you need to put some energy and power numbers to the devices.