diy solar

Troubleshooting assistance, learning

grandam88

8x100 watt JJN solar panels NEW
4s2p? configuration@ 80 volt 10amps
AmpInvt 60 amp MPPT
10 gauge from arrays to 8 gauge once paralleled
30 amp disconnect between pv and mppt

On new install, was getting 720 watts from this set up in mostly ideal conditions. Originally set up as 8P set up. Was concerned about voltage drop, converted to 4p2s @ 40 volts. Started getting max 550 watts.

Then convertered to 4s2p @ 80 volts to further drop amperage. Still getting 550 watts max.

Changed to AmpInvt 60amp mppt from Ecoworthy 60amp mppt. Still getting 550 watts.

I'm new to solar but not new to electronics and electrical troubleshooting at an intermediate level. Have the proper tools for the job. Fluke DMM and Fluke clamp DMM (DC/AC amps)

I'm to the point I believe I have a bad Mc4 connection or a bad panel. However, I think it's odd that a bad connection wouldn't improve when cutting amperage on pv circuit in half when doubling voltage. The increased resistance of a bad connection should be less relevant with lower amperage, higher voltage, producing an improvement in overall wattage @MPPT. However, this hasn't been the case. Obviously a bad connection needs to be dealt with, not advocating to ignore this issue, if it exists.

The consistency of the power output (550 watts) leads me to believe the issue is a panel.

I expect lower output with heat, it is currently 92F during the day and I know the panels are much hotter. However, the decrease, imo, is too drastic to point to it as the cause.

This leads me to my questions;

Am I missing something?

Can I short circuit test the 4s arrays to isolate the issue to an array, safely? Or must I test each panel individually?

I'm reluctant to short an array producing 80 volts at 5 amps.

Is it safe to short circuit the entire array and test? This would be 80 volts @ 10 amps.

EDIT- this also occurs with batteries at low charge during bulk mode.