diy solar

diy solar

Using more grid than expected

AlexGoldie

Hi all,

New to the forum and solar energy. Really liking the system so far but I've noticed something strange and I'm not sure if this is typical.

We got the solar panels installed last week and finally got the battery in place yesterday. Last night, after the sun went down, I noticed we were using about 600w per hour, the battery was fully charged (well to 81% which I think is what the installer set the batter to charge to). We were only taking 125w from the battery and then 475w from the grid. Is that right? It seems that the battery is only ever providing 125w of power. Also, right now we're making 375w from the panels and drawing 22w from the grid, while the battery is sitting there fully charged.

I thought the way it was supposed to work would be, take from solar, then battery and then only grid when the other two aren't providing enough. Like I said, I'm new to all this so could be way off and it's working the way it should be.

The system we're running is:
10x V-TAC 410W Half mono solar panels
1x Solis rhi 5kw hybrid single phase inverter
1x Pylontech us5000 5kw battery

Hope someone can help and sorry if these questions are silly / obvious.

Thanks
Alex

Welcome! There are no silly questions.. you just get silly answers sometimes ;)

I have a Solis RHI too and that behaviour is not correct.

At night, the Solis should supply the house load from the battery, up to the limit of the inverter or battery. One US5000 should provide up to 50A at 48V, so I'd expect you'd get up to 2400W from the battery after sun-down, until the battery reaches its minimum SOC, that is.

How are you measuring those values? Is that is what is showing on the RHI's front screen? If so, can you post a screenshot?

Further thoughts... though not directly related to your original question...