diy solar

diy solar

What are the constraints of MPPT boost controllers (golf cart)

Porkpie

Hi folks, I am an intimidated newbie with electronics and solar.

I have bought an old 36V golf cart with new lead acid batteries that I would like to put a solar roof on.
Naturally I am trying to do this on the cheap, with discount panels and a low cost controller.

What I am seeing for panels seem to top out with a VMP of 37V or maybe 41.xV.

Is this enough for a regular PWM or MPPT controller, or do I need a boost controller?

If I need a boost, do they work with slight excesses of volts, such as these panels would produce, or do they need lower volts, like a 24V panel?

How do you size a controller for the batteries?

These panels are in the 4-450W range, and they all seem to have an Imp around 10-11A, which makes me think a 10 amp controller is too small.

This is a shame, as 10A MPPT boost controllers are super affordable. Am I thinking about the controller rating correctly?

I have been considering a slightly smaller panel, like 330-350, because that would drop the amperage down to 9.2A. But if I am thinking about the controller amperage wrong then there is no point in that.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated,

Ruben.

Hi folks, I am an intimidated newbie with electronics and solar.

I have bought an old 36V golf cart with new lead acid batteries that I would like to put a solar roof on.
Naturally I am trying to do this on the cheap, with discount panels and a low cost controller.

What I am seeing for panels seem to top out with a VMP of 37V or maybe 41.xV.

Is this enough for a regular PWM or MPPT controller, or do I need a boost controller?

No. 36V lead acid needs to be charged at about 43.2V.+

If I need a boost, do they work with slight excesses of volts, such as these panels would produce, or do they need lower volts, like a 24V panel?

There are very few boost controller options, and they tend to be lower power - 10-20A max