diy solar

diy solar

Advice on battery backup for power outages

EL34xyz

Hi All,
I want to set up a battery backup system for power outages.
I have a generator set up on propane, but I would prefer not to run that and use propane.
I am looking at the Sol-Ark 15k: ($8250 and Free shipping during March)

I am not looking to set up solar yet, but I want that option for the future
I have about 40 years of electronics experience, so this sort of thing is not a problem for me to set up
I want a complete package instead of piecing out every component

Looking at my power bill, the average per day is 1341 kwh per day over a 12 month period
I have two buildings tied together and each one has it's own breaker panel
I have a nice spot right next to a breaker panel inside one of the buildings to set up a system

I run my business out of one of the buildings
I only need emergency power backup at this point

My question is, am I on the right track here with the Sol-Ark 15k?
Would two 48v batteries be good to get me started?
Or do I need more?

Like these batteries here?
Are these a good choice?
ARK 48 V 100Ah LiFeP04 Battery

Thanks for any help.

Oops, my power usage is 1341 kwh per month, not per day.
Your average usage is 45kWh per day. Two batteries is 10.2 kWh total, 9.2kWh usable at 90% DoD. About 5 hours of run time.
This is just rough napkin math and doesn't take into account inefficiencies or battery degradation over time.

Also, you did not mention Peak kW demand so we cannot comment on the Sol-Ark 15K. That rating is only valid when PV is available, its actually 12kW output on battery only. Back to the batteries, 12kW will require 250Amps from the batteries. That exceeds a 1C discharge rate and may exceed the internal BMS or breaker in the battery which is quite often 100A. I didn't look up the details of chg/dischg specs for this particular battery. Again, you probably need more batteries.