diy solar

diy solar

DC upscaling for PV's? is it possible?

g-a-b-r-i-e-l

Hello, i have 18v PV panels on my boat and all the inverter chargers im looking at are requiring 100v+ to begin operating. I want to keep them wired in parallel due to shading often found on the canal system, is there any technology or device that upscales the voltage to a workable voltage for the MPPT to use?
Thank you in advance
Gabe

Those 18v panels have or need bypass diodes so that power of the series group will continue forward in mixed shade conditions.
Is the battery 12v? If so a separate controller to just charge the battery could be utilized. Separate inverter for 120vac needs.

Hi, thanks for replying.
they're 36v and the only suitable solutions without breaking the bank require 100v+ on solar.

Im not technical to the level to know what bypass diodes are and if the panels have them or not.
But the nature of the canal system with overhanging trees etc, is that until enough sunlight is on the panels to produce the said 100v+ ill be missing out on a lot of potential charge, hence ive been advised in the past to stick with parallel.
I guess, by you not stating the technology/devices, there just isnt any?
Thank you again

I am not aware of an electrical device that will step up DC voltage as you are requesting. (if it exists it would be terribly inefficient)
The bypass diodes are about other panels still working even though one panel is shaded. (this would kill the other panels in a series string (unless you have the diodes)
Parallel wiring gives you more amperage and the same voltage.
Series wiring gives you more voltage and the same amperage.
You MUST get your voltage up enough to be able to run your charger.
Choice A. parallel - get no charge ever.
Choice B. series - get charge when in full sun and no shade.
Good luck friend.