diy solar

diy solar

EV Network issues and a possible fix? A thought experiment...

Rednecktek

Solar Wizard
So I've been saying for a couple decades now that for any kind of alternative energy source to really take off, you'd need 1 company to step up and say "By 202x every Chevron/Exxon/Shell/Temco/Etc station will have Biodiesel/Hydrogen/Ethanol/Etc." and whatever that source was the industry would start really making cars that can use it. Right now it seems that EV is leading the way but a huge issue is range anxiety (and gods help you if you have an EV truck!) but I had a thought...

So homes tend to just wire in a NEMA-50 plug and there are dozens of plug-in chargers available, NAC is becoming a standard now amongst manufacturers, so the only thing preventing any gas station out there from providing EV charging is the initial investment running the power (not too horrible) and some form of billing/metering method, right? It seems the missing key to making EV charger adoption more accessible is the metering & billing to take the 30Kwh you just threw into your car and charge it to your ATM card/cash. I think as soon as someone comes out with a meter that works with gas stations' current per-gallon measuring and billing we'll start seeing signs saying Unleaded $5.999, Diesel $6.249, EV $0.209. As cheap as electricity is the markup and ROI should be fairly quick compared to the few cents a gallon stations make now.

Where is my logic wrong? Brainstorm with me y'all! :unsure: