diy solar

diy solar

GROWATT 3K Inverters not using PV Input in bright sun

cknschneider

I'm a novice solar enthusiast, but I have 2 new GROWATT 3k inverters, 32 240W solar panel (2 rows of 16 wired in parallel, the 2 rows in series).
Batteries are new lifepower 200 amp, and I have 5 in the rack.

It's almost noon, bright sun, batteries are at 74% and it's using grid to power the house and charge the batteries.
It's using most of the defaults, pgm 1 is set to SBU.
I've played around with every configuration that makes sense to me, but can't get it to use solar when it makes sense to.
You can see it connect occasionally at 50-60 volts but the voltage quickly drops back down to 26 and it disconnects from solar.
The only time it uses the solar consistently is early morning and late afternoon when the panels are mostly shaded.

Hoping someone can help - feeling like I just waited a lot of money ...needless to say, my wife is not happy :--------/

What is the solar panel ratings and what is your voltage measured from the solar panels at your Growatts without loads? I do not quite understand your two array configuration. Each inverter should have its own array. They should be wired such as to have sufficient voltage to run each inverter.

Thanks for your quick reply - I'm already relieved to have someone to talk to about this.
Panel rating is Vmpp= 31.1 Impp= 8.4 Watt=260. (thought they were 240)
I had 32 all in parallel hooked to an old style 24V inverter.
I knew that the GROWATTs would need more voltage, so I split them into two 24V arrays of 16 panels and wired the two arrays in series, hoping 48V would be enough, but in the sun they read 60V.
I have the PV going into a terminal block and it splits off there to the two inverters.
Here is the perplexing part - When I first turn the inverters on they read on the inverter display the same that I measure - 60V.