diy solar

diy solar

Growatt SPH without battery

ludvik

Growatt SPH work without battery, but show error "bmc com fault" or "Battery Voltage Low".
How to properly set up battery-free mode?

Setting #1 SUB
Setting #5 AGM (default)
It will still show battery low.
But, will work fine.

But if it's working , should be fine.
Without a battery connected, it will show battery error. Just ignore it.

But if it's working , should be fine.
Without a battery connected, it will show battery error. Just ignore it.
does not make sense at all for the SPH series!

I told you I can not find these menus so your idea can not be working on the SPH series.
And ignoring the battery error will not help either cause the inverter is generating 0V and that is what he had observed and me too now.
So we did not get any further.

I have no idea if the SPH models can work without batteries. I have no personal experience with them. Or, heard anything about them. Sorry

I have no idea if the SPH models can work without batteries. I have no personal experience with them. Or, heard anything about them. Sorry
yes, but that is the core issue we currently face. They should work as growatt has published, but they did not mention how.
This is the point or solution we are looking for cause right now the inverter does start and nothing else, 0 kWh production today with a 2,5 kWp array connected, while the long summer day had brought 15 kWh on our older 2 kWp Growat gridtie string inverter.

Thx.

I have the SPH5000 and can confirm that it will work without a battery. As Timselectric states, you do get an error about battery voltage being too low but it works regardless. I have suggested to tech support that a "No Battery" option be included with the Lithium/LeadAcid menu which disables the alarm but guess that was too much to ask for. :rolleyes: