diy solar

diy solar

Help me understand calculating actual SCC current output (and why I want to know it)

Dustin Henderson

I am a newb putting together a very modest and very simple travel trailer solar charge installation - and this is key- in a trailer that is “pre wired for solar”. Bear with me on the specifics of why I am asking.

I am just about ready to start gathering final materials and installing, and realized something I had not previously accounted for. As such, I need to understand more about how actual current output is calculated for an MPPT solar charge controller.

Let’s assume I have 2 100w panels wired in SERIES, each with the following specifications: (Vmp): 20.4V, (Voc): 24.3V (Imp): 4.91A (Isc): 5.21A
Let’s assume I have a 100/40 MPPT Solar charge controller.
Let’s assume a LiFePo “12v” battery.

What determines the actual max output amperage in the scenario above? Is it 16.7 Amps in my example? Can a SCC only output the current that it is receiving in watts and volts as limiting factor, and nothing greater? Ie, that’s not the job of an SCC.

The reason I need to know this is, while tracing the preinstalled wiring in my install I realized the pre wire from the “rooftop solar” runs through a bus bar with individual “fuses” (actually self resetting breakers?) that continue to the battery. According to the wiring diagram, the rooftop solar wire is attached to a fuse that is actually shared with the “tow vehicle charge line”. The breaker is 30 Amp. I was preparing to install 40 Amp fuses in my wiring when I realized I need to evaluate what is already there. in this case a 30 Amp fuse. I want to retain the original routing.

Clearly, at 200 watts this will not be an issue with tripping a 30 amp breaker, but what if I eventually expand to 2S2P and 400 watts total? Now I am at 33.3 Amps. In addition, what amperage draw is the meager “tow vehicle charge line” likely to be adding while towing?

Caveats: