diy solar

diy solar

Help with grid tie system

speedracer77

A good friend of mine is taking advantage of local government incentives to install a grid tie system to his house. He will be on net metering so doesn't require batteries or a charger right now. If I design and install his system for him he will give me some panels which I can use to power my off grid home. I don't have access to the government incentives because I'm not grid tied, so this will be my chance to get into more solar than my 2 40w RV panels and hopefully stop running the generator all the time.

He has 20 480w panels he got a good deal on. I need to choose an inverter and deside how to wire the system. These are the panels:

Do I need a 9,600 watt inverter? I doubt the panels will charge at full capacity often. Also they say max series fuse size is 20 amp. Does that mean I can wire 2 panels in series max, and each of those series can be wired in parallel? I have lots of electrical experience, just not in solar.

Attachments

• Datasheet_Q_Cells_Q.PEAK-DUO-XL-G10.3-475-495-2021-08-Rev02-NA__TheCabinDepot.pdf
    573.2 KB · Views: 4
He wants to sell as much power as he can back to the grid. If I wire the panels into two ten panel series banks can i use this inverter?

Attachments

• Backed_by.pdf
    706 KB · Views: 7
Since he is paying, and you have no experience, get the Sol-ark 15k. Put it between the meter and the main panel, and attach solar. Program it, and you are done. He can add batteries later if he wants to.

Or, get a cheap growatt, and have it push all the power it can through the main panel.

He wants to sell as much power as he can back to the grid. If I wire the panels into two ten panel series banks can i use this inverter?