diy solar

diy solar

Increasing 48v battleborn battery bank with DIY batteries?

Daley

I am a complete novice at this so please forgive me if questions seem silly.

I have 4 x 12v 100ah battleborn batteries connected in series to give 48v.

I would like to increase the battery bank capacity.
Can I build another 48v bank and connect that in parallel to my existing bank? If so what would be a good and affordable route to take? Space is limited so building something smaller would be a bonus.

Many thanks

Yes, you could build another 16S LFP (LiFePo4) bank of cells, with their own BMS and have it connected parallel to your existing Battle Born batteries. But since the capacity and age as well as the connection resistance etc. are all not going to match, do not expect to get any more current, just more time. So whatever current your existing battery bank can safely handle, run the same current but for twice as long by adding a string of 16 100 amp hour LFP cells and a BMS.

Thanks for your help, much appreciated.

So I would need to buy 16 100 amp hour cells, a BMS (any recommendation's?), bus bars and some sort of housing, is that everything?

I am trying to increase my storage capacity, no problems with current, system works great.

I saw these 12v 100ah cells on alibaba, would four of these work?

I also saw these that appear to be a Chinese battle born equivalent.

The ready made one looks like it would work out cheaper.

So I would need to buy 16 100 amp hour cells, a BMS (any recommendation's?), bus bars and some sort of housing, is that everything?

I am trying to increase my storage capacity, no problems with current, system works great.

You can get 100AH cells on alibaba for around $34.00 plus shipping. Much cheaper than the drop in replacement which I think you wont be happy with anyhow.

Hi,

Am I correct in thinking that those cells are 3.2v each and I will need 16 of them?