diy solar

diy solar

Looking for some affirmation

hankinohio

I am looking to build a 48 volt solar and battery system to power our refrigerators and freezers with grid backup.
I would be putting the circuits for these in a sub panel for the solar only,
I need 12 KWH a day for this panel. I figure I need;
Approximately 15 - 20 kwh of batteries
3 kW worth of solar panels
6 - 6.5 kw inverter... sized larger for possible expansion
Does this sound correct?
Would you recommend anything different?
COULD you recommend some suppliers for this system?
I was really looking at Signature Solar, but after reading some reviews, I'm a little afraid of them.
I have little knowledge of these systems and will probably need some help. SS seems to be hit or miss in the support department.

Other suppliers include Alt E store, Current Connected, Stella Volta.

Brands include Schneider, Outback, SMA, Midnight, SolArk.

"Grid backup", you say which I take to mean you won't draw down batteries except during rare grid outages. That is like mine.
Is net metering available? If so, you can generate and use power daily, reducing utility bill (maybe, depending on rates & policies.)

AGM batteries, which I use, should last a decade with that level of infrequent usage. Cost about $6000 for 20kWh.
With only 12kWh/day, how much at night? Potentially you could get by with smaller battery. Except when it isn't sunny during the day.
LiFePO4 batteries may be similar cost, could last 16 years even with daily cycling.
Each has its own issues and benefits.

What I'm going to be installing for family and friends is 7.7kW SMA Sunny Boy Smart Energy, as grid-tie net metering. Adding batteries (high voltage) is optional, and cost would be higher compared to some 48V lithium battery solutions.

I am looking to build a 48 volt solar and battery system to power our refrigerators and freezers with grid backup.
Does this sound correct?