diy solar

diy solar

My FIL has several micro hydro options. Help with the design would be great.

cibernox

Let's start my introducing myself and our situation.

My father in law has just retired and it has always been a tinkerer. What he lacks in knowledge or formal education he more than makes up for it in resourcefulness.
He (and I) lives in NW Spain, a very rainy part of the country, and quite mountainous. He has no less than 3 o 4 constant streams of water going through his property, of several kinds. I'm a software developer myself with some basic understanding of electronics and I also own a solar system (commercial, no batteries)

He has a spring with a water reservoir around 50 meters uphill from his home, that he has used as a source of drinkable water for his home for 5 decades. We measured 3.8bar at the bottom of the pipe. The flow rate will surely vary seasonally, but right now in winter no less than 6/7 litres/second. All this water is "wasted" anyway into an artificial waterfall in their garden (because when you put together a man with disposable time and several excavators and water springs, a garden waterfall is bound to happen). It's a shame we have all that flow and pressure and we do nothing with them but landscaping.

Then he also has another spring with not a lot of head by a higher flow, let's saw 10 or 12l/second, maybe more.

He's already experimenting with a water wheel for the low pressure high-volume spring. See attached video:

Let's be clear, we don't anticipate any of this to be generating a whole lot of energy nor to be 100% wise from an investment point of view, but still, we'd like to make this work for the love of doing it. But we need help with the generator-side of things.

Let's start with the water wheel: