diy solar

diy solar

Need sanity check on Victron Orion-Tr + Smart Shunt wiring please

amartin

Hello, I'm still a newbie and drinking from the firehose. I'm also now on a timecrunch for the start of my project and since I can no longer procrastinate it's time to dive in head first. General idea is a 12v LFP house battery inside the truck cab + Victron Orion-Tr to charge at 30A + Victron Smart Shunt to watch my loads (and for the future). LFP battery will likely be an SOK 100Ah for now only because I'm out of time - not terrible but not what I wanted, future plans will be something different.

Looking to get a sanity check on my wiring plan so I don't have a bad bad day. Also so I don't burn down my truck. Made a quick wiring diagram below - does this look correct? I may have missed adding some fuses/breakers on the 12v ports/loads and will probably add those in the actual build.

Thanks for any help to point me in the right direction!

Update 10/29/22: I built it and it works!! Skip to post #20 to read more. Thanks everyone for the help!

2022-09-07 19_21_08-Window.png

Last edited:
Looks ok to me
Thanks! I posted over on the Victron forum and got some clarification. My original drawing was less than precise because I'm learning & playing with Visio, but in my head I had the right idea for real-world install. Cleaned up the drawing and posting back here as well in case it helps someone in the future. Appreciate having other pairs of eyes on this!

2022-09-07 23_00_56-Window.png

Took a moment to see the difference.... Yes I missed that before.

The primary battery to the smart shunt will be the SOK so it should have the Bbat+ The starter should have the Aux.

Took a moment to see the difference.... Yes I missed that before.

The primary battery to the smart shunt will be the SOK so it should have the Bbat+ The starter should have the Aux.