diy solar

diy solar

psa: Chargeverter is LOUD

Warning! If you are looking at the HLG-240H-48A that model only adjusts up to 51.2V

Thank you for warning me (I am a TOTAL noob)... I did catch that you were using the "-54A" so I paid (hopefully) close attention to the specs. I'm going to get the HLG-240H-54A unless you warn me away from it :D

HLG-240H-54A
That will be good. 50-57v adj range will cover any possible needs for a 48v battery.

The adjustment process looks like this, you take one of the little black plugs out and put like an eyeglass repair size screwdriver in to reach a tiny plastic screw, and then you dial it while watching the output on a multimeter, and each tiny adjustment overshoots but after enough fiddling you get it to land on the right voltage.

Once you've got it set to say 53.2 or 54 or whatever you choose, it will charge a lower battery up to that voltage, or hold the battery at that voltage, or wait at 0 amps if the battery is higher than it's setting.

That charger is rated by the datasheet to withstand a DC overvolt of 60-67v but there should be no way the battery bank would ever be over 60.

Thank you for warning me (I am a TOTAL noob)... I did catch that you were using the "-54A" so I paid (hopefully) close attention to the specs. I'm going to get the HLG-240H-54A unless you warn me away from it :D
Oh and another fair warning. I am a slight outlier for using these LED drivers for chargers like this. I can only tell you in my experience that they are good for it. You will run into other people who will consider this inadvisable, or not a charger, or just plain weird. But I like them.

I have a Chargeverter v1, and I like it (Aside from poor documentation).