diy solar

diy solar

Refrigerators

dmizesr

I have a beginner's questions about fridges. I downloaded both the planning worksheet and the reference guide for wattages. Both are extremely helpful so kudos to the folks that put them up. My plan is a 24x32 (or close to that) cabin off-grid and I had most of the figures down. Concerning batteries I was sitting at a minimum of 3,543 watt hours and 295 amp hours. According to the reference guide an average fridge/freezer grabs 700 running watts and 2200 surge watts. When I inputted those figures along with running it 24 hours per day my watt hours jumped to 45,024 and amp hours increased to 3,752. So adding the fridge took me from a couple of 200+ amp hour batteries to a bank of 18 or better! That's if I'm doing the math right and since I'm new to this there's every possibility I'm not. As a matter of fact I really hope I'm not. So, advice? And thanks in advance.

Just be aware that a refrigerator has a duty cycle. The compressor might run 30 minutes out of an hour (this is a ball park estimate) so you maybe overestimating by quite a bit. A Kill-a-Watt meter would be the best way to know for sure with any specific fridge.

You might consider a propane refrigerator or a small high-efficiency electric model. Probably a lot cheaper than all those extra batteries.

Show your math. 700W for 24 hours = 16,800Wh.

If you want real numbers, get something like a Kill-a-watt meter and measure how many watt hours your actual fridge really uses per day.

Show your math. 700W for 24 hours = 16,800Wh.

If you want real numbers, get something like a Kill-a-watt meter and measure how many watt hours your actual fridge really uses per day.