diy solar

diy solar

Renogy Rover 40A Li acting weird?

CrispySonOfA

I have a Renogy 40A Rover charge controller with 600w of panels installed. This unit has worked for about a year and 6 months without issue with this setup. I have a 200AH lithium battery from renogy as well. What I was experiencing is that the controller would start with a high amperage going to the battery and then slowly drop down to almost nothing. Nothing has changed and I checked all the connections. I am curious if this is something commonly experienced with a bad controller or other. Any insight is appreciated. Renogy tech support is awful so I figured I'd ask here before subjecting myself to that. I am a licensed electrician and have a good clamp/multimeter. I am more curious if this is a common issue with these rovers. I noticed the controller senses the SOC at 100%but says this is a reference only. The battery thinks it's at 86% so I'm not sure where the disconnect is with the two. I appreciate the insight very much.

I have a Renogy 40A Rover charge controller with 600w of panels installed. This unit has worked for about a year and 6 months without issue with this setup. I have a 200AH lithium battery from renogy as well. What I was experiencing is that the controller would start with a high amperage going to the battery and then slowly drop down to almost nothing. Nothing has changed and I checked all the connections. I am curious if this is something commonly experienced with a bad controller or other. Any insight is appreciated. Renogy tech support is awful so I figured I'd ask here before subjecting myself to that. I am a licensed electrician and have a good clamp/multimeter. I am more curious if this is a common issue with these rovers. I noticed the controller senses the SOC at 100%but says this is a reference only. The battery thinks it's at 86% so I'm not sure where the disconnect is with the two. I appreciate the insight very much.