diy solar

diy solar

Sol-ark damaged by small generator?

hautions11

I have heard that the 15k can be damaged by the use of smaller generators due to surges from quick loads etc. ( highest Sol-ark failure rate is associated with small generator issues) I also heard that Sol-ark recommends a 22k minimum generator. In reading lots of threads it appears a lot of you are running small under 10k generators as back up.

I do have a 30 KWh battery bank for a bit of load buffering, but what is the bottom line? Thx

I have never heard that, but I'm new to the game.

I noticed that my 7kWh continuous generator would trip easier when putting power "through" the sol-ark than when I used it stand-alone. However, I just worked around the minor inconvenience by only using it to charge the battery, rather than running it when doing laundry and other high draw tasks.

Works pretty well. I just avoid the quick loads now when using the small generator. The inverter must just pull a lot of power quickly, tripping the generator when it otherwise wouldn't have. That's my guess.

If I was fully off-grid, I would get a better generator for sure. I like the one I have though, the 8750 harbor freight inverter. Good for the money.

2.4 Integrating a Generator
Generators Smaller than 19.2kW → On “GEN” Terminal
1. Supports 120/240V generators only.
2. Connect the generator output to the “GEN” input terminal of the Sol-Ark. You must select the
correct grid type before connecting the generator.
3. A THD (Total Harmonic Distortion) of less than 15% is preferred.
4. “GEN” terminal DOES NOT support 120/208V 3-Phase generators.

Generators Bigger than 19.2kW → On “GRID” Terminal
1. Supports 220V Single phase, 120/240V Split phase, 120/208V 3-Phase (2 of 3 phases). The correct
grid type must be selected before connecting the generator.
2. Off-Grid systems with whole-home generators on ATS (Automatic Transfer Switch) or manual
transfer switch connected to the