diy solar

diy solar

Solar Fridge Help

arniesab

I have a Unique 10.3 cu.ft. 12 V. DC fridge (pulls 53watts, 524wh in 24 hours).
According to the manual, I should use 8 Gauge wire for the 30foot run. It also says a "15amp fuse should be installed in-line near the battery terminal" (and that it's included--but it is not). My system is pretty basic. 1 Lithium 100AH battery. 500W of panels. Victron 150/35 controller.

My question: I have the 8 gague wire going to the battery terminals directly, as recommended, but I'm confused about what size in-line fuse to use. For 8AWG wire, I don't find any 15 amp fuses (and it seems that that size wire requires a 40Amp fuse). Should I install a 40A in-line fuse near the battery terminal? Or, should I rethink how to run a 15A fuse on the line (fuse box?). I'm very new to solar and any help/advice appreciated.

A further concern: I attached the 8AWG wire to the 4 feet or so of wire coming out of the fridge, which looks to be 12AWG at best. Is that OK, or should I run the 8AWG directly into the power supply under the fridge?

Thanks!

Thanks, yeah, I've looked at some things like that. I'm wondering if I really need a 15A fuse, as recommended by the manufacturer, or if that size fuse was assuming you just used the stock wire coming out of the fridge and didn't extend it 30' with 8AWG wire.

Thanks, yeah, I've looked at some things like that. I'm wondering if I really need a 15A fuse, as recommended by the manufacturer, or if that size fuse was assuming you just used the stock wire coming out of the fridge and didn't extend it 30' with 8AWG wire.
The over current protection rating of 15A doesn't change due to distance. The wire gets bigger to minimize voltage drop at that given operating current. The problem comes in with long distances where the wire gets too big to fit in the lug of the breaker or fuse holder.