diy solar

diy solar

Stuck In Solar Limbo

PeteW

Hello Out there,
So here's the thing. I'm a DIY solar newbie with some book and internet learn'n. I've done quite a bit of reading and youtube research (including Will's book), but I'm kind of stuck. Well, "Paralyzed" is probably a more accurate description. I'm also worried about all of the stocking / shipping problems. I'm not looking for the cheapest deal. I am looking for good brands and warranties. I'm also hoping to avoid to many time and money wasting Newbie mistakes. I think I'm especially in need of encouragement and advice. Here are my issues:

I'm stuck at deciding what solar panels I want to install. Some Background: I own an 1992 Airstream Trailer (tow behind). Roof space is limited and curved. At the moment I'm leaning toward rigid 100 watt panels such as the Rich brand. I'm referring to the mono-crystalline with the 45.5" x 20.5" frame size. Ideally I'd like to mount 6. That said, I'm certain I can mount 4 of this size, 6 might be difficult, so I'm also considering the Rich Poly-crystalline 39.6" x26.4" or a mix of both types. I'm planning to service a 400 watt LiFePO4 battery bank. With either a 2 or 3k hybrid inverter and an adaquate MPPT charge controller that would allow for some expansion if that need should arrive. I'm still hand wringing over this also. Plus now they have they all in one units. Ugh. I'm also struggling with whether it makes sense to go to a 24V DC system or just a 12V