diy solar

diy solar

Travel Trailer 24v LiFePo4 / Solar / Charger / Inverter system setup...

CanadianEH

Good afternoon fellow solar enthusiasts. I am new to the forum .. please go easy on me!

I am in the process of designing my ideal of grid Solar charger inverter system for my travel trailer. Any help and or guidance would be great. This isnt my first dive into the Solar pool, but I am no expert by any means. We also live in Alberta Canada which is a great solar potential area as we get ALOT of blue sky sunlight and the temperatures generally dont get extremely hot here.

The goal of the system is to allow my family more access to camp at sites and locations which do not have power hookups. My wife enjoys the outdoors as I do, but is a confessed "Glamper" she likes the niceties of home close at hand whenever possible. So far we have kept pretty well to camping at campground but limited ourselves to power only sites. This limits our availability as reservations fill up EXTREMELY fast around here. We have gone a few times using a friends Genny, but neither of us enjoy that. Even the quiet ones are too loud and annoying to turn on and off as required. We usually go for a 3-5 day maximum trip. But have taken a few 2 week hauls in the past. I did some basic calculations and added in about 20% for the unknown to be safe we would be around 3000wh a day. itll likely be MUCH lower. I would like to connect this to my current rv system to run all 110v plugs and the 12v items. as well as allow the 30amp power hook up the ability to charge the batteries when connected to power. ( im a little unsure about this part) The largest draw will likely be a Hair dryer, microwave or coffee maker..

Therefore.. rather than dumping $$ into a generator, I would like to install a system that would be available 24/7 with no noise and no campground restrictions on use ( ie only use between 8am and 9pm)