diy solar

diy solar

Victron experts CC input needed

I just think it's dorky to have MC4s mounted on a box. Perhaps more convenient for small installations. Just my opinion.

With the screw terminals, you get all of the the fine-standed cable vs. PV cable vs. welding wire arguments, and the ferrule or no-ferrule argument threads on this site, which I find informative and entertaining. Not a big fan of the phillips head terminals either, but that's what they sell.
I,wouldn’t buy the mc4 version

Both of my Victron 100/50's have flat head (i.e. single slot) terminal heads, which I do not like.

Does Victron now use philipps head terminals?
probably depends on the model, here is the 150/70.
Both of mine (250/100 and 250/70) are phillips.
Maybe the lower power ones are not.

Attachments

• IMG_6508.jpeg
    IMG_6508.jpeg
    269.7 KB · Views: 7
I found this thread looking for Victron charge controller info. Looks like we have a few Victron users here. I am new to victron with just one charge controller now. I saw something happening today that I didn't expect.

My charge controller is the Smart Solar 150/35
The VMP of my 2,000 watt array is 80 to 90 volts and my battery bank voltage is 51 to 58 volts.

As the sun was setting, I saw the Victron app reporting 10 watts and it was flipping to 9 watts and back, so it was not a frozen display. Obviously this is minimal power and not doing much, but I expected no power as the solar array voltage was at just 20.82 volts, way under the battery bank voltage. Do these Victron controller do a boost mode? The efficiency does not look very good. The status screen shows the solar voltage at 20.82 and current at 0.5 amps. That is 10.41 watts in. The battery side shows 56.36 volts and 0.10 amps, or just 5.636 watts. SO only 54% of the power making it to the battery, but it is more than nothing.

The LEDs and the status screen on my phone also show "Bulk" mode.