diy solar

diy solar

What causes voltage drop on other circuits, when using high amp draw electronics and how to eliminate it?

Jonathan86

I'm a total novice regarding this stiff. My question/title assumes that's what's happening. I've read many posts on "flickering led lights," but none have really helped me understand the issue.

I have a ~ten year old outback system, don't have the model number atm, if that matters. Two inverters that I believe are ~3.6kw each, 7.5kw solar, and ~70kw battery bank of rolls lead acid batteries at 48v. Off grid.

Randomly over the years, I would get the light flicker, sometimes when starting the AC or well pump, sometimes they wouldn't flicker when starting those, and sometimes the lights would flicker when minor draw things would run. Also, all of my uninterrupted power supplies in the house would also flip on sometimes, when certain electronics would start. A few years ago I purchased a Miller 252 mig welder, (a big transformer style welder), and whenever I would be in my shop, which is on a separate panel from the house, if that matters, welding, it would flip on all the uninterrupted power supplies in the house and make all the lights flicker. Everyone in the house would get quite annoyed, and you can probably imagine what it was like when doing dozens of tack or stitch welds, just a few seconds between each. I sold that welder and bought a smaller, inverter style welder, which got rid of that issue.