diy solar

diy solar

Where are you and what electricity do you use?

ianganderton

Auckland, NZ
I was wondering where in the world folks are as it seems this forum is getting pretty international. Let’s see how distributed this network is.

There are distinct differences in the electrical supplies used in different regions and while some are obvious I thought it would be interesting to see what is used and where at the same time

So let’s get going

Format - City, country. Nominal voltage, current type & frequency

I’m currently in Auckland, New Zealand. Residential power here is 230V AC 50Hz.

I’m relatively new to NZ. Before here I was in Australia for 5 years and before that 6 years in Dubai. I’m British and grew up there.

Australia and NZ use the same voltage & plugs. Their standards are largely aligned it seems.
Dubai (United Arab Emirates) used British style 3 pin plugs and 230V but because of its very international nature lots of different plug styles, especially European, were used on products.
All my British electrical equipment has functioned normally in all locations but I’m used to either changing plugs or using adaptors when needed.

Interesting fact - I was just looking at this link https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electricity_sector_in_New_Zealand and saw this

82% of energy for electricity generation is from renewable sources, making New Zealand one of the lowest carbon dioxide emitting countries in terms of electricity.

So where are other folks and what electricity are you using?

I was wondering where in the world folks are as it seems this forum is getting pretty international. Let’s see how distributed this network is.

There are distinct differences in the electrical supplies used in different regions and while some are obvious I thought it would be interesting to see what is used and where at the same time

So let’s get going

Format - City, country. Nominal voltage, current type & frequency